City Lights: Detroit/Providence 2CD
Superhero Records
Catalog # SBS04
Release Year 1995  
2CD Length 75:30 | 61:51
Date/Venue Detroit / Providence 1982
Source Soundboard
Quality EX
G2P Rating 5/5.0

Track Listing
30 November 1982 Masonic Temple, Detroit (Disc 1)
10 February 1983 Civic Center Providence (Disc 2)
Disc #1
  1. Controversy
  2. Let's work
  3. Little red Corvette
  4. Do me, baby
  5. Head
  6. Uptown
  7. How come U don't call me anymore?
  8. Lady cab driver
  9. International lover
  10. 1999
  11. D.M.S.R.
              Disc #2
  1. Controversy
  2. Let's work
  3. Do me, baby
  4. D.M.S.R.
  5. Still waiting
  6. How come U don't call me anymore?
  7. Lady cab driver
  8. Little red Corvette
  9. Dirty mind
  10. International lover
  11. 1999

Deane's Comments (rates this release 5/5.0)
Two excellent soundboard shows from the 1999 Tour. The shows are very much alike and both have excellent sound quality. Includes a 12 page booklet with period photos and very little information about the shows. City Lights is an amazing set of 11cds (9 shows) and is an important document of early Prince performances.

Dale's Comments  (rates this release 5/5.0)
A truly amazing set. If I had to choose one release of 1999 shows to keep from my collection this would be the one. One of the fantastic things about this is the transition which takes place between the Dirty Mind/Controversy tours and this one. Continuing with his expirimentations of Controversy, Prince begins using synths much more prominently in his music, which contributes greatly to his musical growth over the next few years. The sound on these shows is probably the best of all the City Lights shows, and the cover art is creative and shows the amount of thought put into the making of this historical 11 CD set.

Mike's Comments  (rates this release 5/5.0)
Two shows from different stages of the 1999 tour. Both are excellent, and with the sound coming straight from the mixing desk this is about as good a document from the tour as it is possible to get. Not one to be missed.

Fink's Comments  (rates this release 5/5.0)
Two excellent, and thankfully vastly different 1999 shows. Both are soundboard recordings and of similar high quality. Crisp, clear and nearly flawless. The Detroit show is from the 1st leg of the tour and features many parts not heard on the later 1983 leg of the tour. Both 'Little Red Corvette' and 'Lady Cab Driver' contain extended musical parts, and there are far more "seduction lyrics" from Prince during 'International Lover'. '1999' is also performed slightly differently due in part to many effects which were added to the version played on the 2nd leg of the tour.

The Providence concert is undoubtedly the better of the two shows, even though the show is 10 minutes shorted than the Detroit concert, and is a little more special due to a rare performance of 'Still Waiting' prior to 'How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore'. Two of the better shows from the tour in near-perfect quality - what's NOT to love about this release? One thing which should be pointed out is that there the Detroit 82 recording suffers a drop-out during the outro of 'Lady Cab Driver' which whilst being extremely minor is worth a mention. As with the other City Lights sets the packaging is stunning, and this is perhaps the best in terms of imaginative artwork. An essential release.

copyright 2018