Born In St. Paul 2CD
Catalog # MTS001/002
Release Year   
2CD Length 66:07 | 66:54
Date/Venue 6 May 1990 St. Paul Civic Center & MC Flash Session
Source Audience Recording & Soundboard
Quality VG/EX-
G2P Rating 4/5.0

Track Listing
St. Paul 6/5/90 (disc 1 & disc 2 tracks 1 - 3)
M. C. Flash sessions (disc 2 tracks 4 - 13)

Disc #1
  1. Intro.
  2. The future
  3. 1999
  4. Housequake / Sexy dancer
  5. Kiss / I'm in the mood
  6. Purple rain
  7. Take me with U
  8. Alphabet St.
  9. The question of U
  10. Controversy
  11. Ain't no way
  12. Nothing compares 2 U
  13. Batdance
              Disc #2
  1. Scandalous
  2. Baby I'm a star / Respect
  3. Partyman
  4. Are you there?
  5. Brand new boy
  6. Prison of love
  7. Bed of roses
  8. Good man
  9. Kenny
  10. We can hang
  11. Curious blue
  12. Boys will be boys
  13. Goodbye

Deane's Comments (rates this release 3.75/5.0)
Prince only did two Nude shows in the US and this is the only one available on CD at this time. Sound quality is okay but the show is great fun. Prince always seems at his best in front of a hometown crowd. The inclusion of a beautiful live performance of Scandalous makes this realease worth alisten. It is great to hear the Nude Tour in it's earliest form before the performances got a little worn down. The MC Flash outakes have superb sound quality but are just filler and don't really add much to the release.

Dale's Comments  (rates this release 4.25/5.0)
This is a really fun show. Prince is in top form and seems to be enjoying himself a lot. The highlight of the show for me is his rendition of Nothing Compares 2 U. The MC Flash material should have been on a separate release., and can be found in better quality on T's MC Flash release.

Mike's Comments  (rates this release 4/5.0)
The second of two warm-up shows played prior to the Nude tour (the first was on 30/4/90 at Ruperts Wine Bar). The setlist here is the same as for many of the Nude shows, aside from 'Scandalous' which was dropped before the tour started. A good show and one I would recommend highly if it were not for the average sound quality. The MC Flash bonus tracks sound horribly like Tina Turner outtakes and one assumes Prince wasn't too proud of his involvement here.

copyright 2002