Blue 2CD

Catalog #
Release Year   
2CD Length 55:06 | 59:04
Date/Venue Outakes & Official Releases
Source Soundboard & Release
Quality VG/EX
G2P Rating 2.125/5.0

Track Listing
Studio outtakes and demos (disc 1 tracks 1 - 3, 7 - 10 & 12 & disc 2 tracks 2, 4 & 8 - 12)
Officially released studio tracks (disc 1 tracks 4, 5, 6 & 11 & disc 2 tracks 1, 3 & 5 - 7)
 Disc #1
  1. I hear your voice
  2. Come [from PA]
  3. Endorphinmachine [from PA]
  4. Deuce & a quarter
  5. 2gether
  6. My tender heart [Rosie Gaines]
  7. Race [from PA]
  8. I need love [George Clinton]
  9. This groove [George Clinton]
  10. Allegiance
  11. Johnny
  12. Kiss [not listed on sleeve]
              Disc #2
  1. Goldie's parade
  2. The voice
  3. Space [from PA]
  4. Making it easy [George Clinton]
  5. Black MF in the house
  6. Gold nigga
  7. Pheromone [from PA]
  8. We can funk '92 [George Clinton]
  9. Booty [George Clinton]
  10. 51 hours [Diamond & Pearl]
  11. Insatiable
  12. The lost 0(+> segues

Deane's Comments (rates this release 1.75/5.0)
Don't bother. Everything here is available on better releases. First, if you want the Gold Nigga tracks, get the official CD. It is easy to get and has much better quality. Yes, the packaging is beautiful, but the content sucks. This is part of a series of discs with color names. Not to be confused with the Play With Me 9 CD series that also has color names.

Dale's Comments  (rates this release 2.5/5.0)
Overall this isn't a bad release, but it is rather pointless now. If you don't think you can get a hold of the tracks elsewhere then it's worth picking up.

Mike's Comments (rates this release 1.5/5.0)
An unusual mixture of bits and pieces. The George Clinton tracks have no Prince input (aside from 'We can funk' which Prince obviously wrote) though they were all recorded during his time on the Paisley Park label. They're as good as anything else he was coming up with at the time. The tracks on here from Gold nigga are undoubtedly the most interesting ones from that album though why they were scattered across the two discs is unclear. The Clinton tracks aside, the only selling point this compilation now has is the fact that the Come demos recorded from a PA have yet to find their way onto any quality bootleg.

copyright 2002